No Plans: Lisbon

This was to celebrate my 25th birthday. I’ve done mini solo trips before but nothing like this escapade. I had no real itinerary. I did have a list of places to see, but I ended up leaving that on accident.  So I literally when winged everything.  Did I need a tour guide? Not necessarily, it would have been nice for the knowledge, but I’m not into being on someone else’s schedule. I’m not rushing for anyone.
Right off the bat I changed it up on myself.  Visiting a new city most people would have taken a taxi, but I refused to do that and forced myself to learn how to use the city metro.  It was a little tricky but helluva a lot cheaper.
One of the reasons I love traveling is because I don’t have to be anywhere but in the present.  I don’t have to worry about anything serious during the days of this trip. The thing about traveling by yourself is you do exactly what you want and take as long or little as you want with anything.  You stop when you want to stop and go when you want to go.  Eat wherever you feel like. I like to pretend and make up personas. I was whoever I wanted to be: no one to someone.  Was I concerned about certain things? Yeah of course. Did it get lonely? Yes, in the times that I caught myself in a sea of couples.  That is why I think that my next relationship will be all the more significant.  But that’s a story for another day. Scared? Of course I’m out of my comfort zone and can’t speak the language, it comes with traveling.

In a sense I craved to be away from reality, to take a break from the “real world”.  I wouldn’t say that I’m running away from anything, but more in a sense of running towards the person I’m trying to be.  It was a trip that created this faith in me that I can not only survive but thrive on my own.   Everything felt so normal, so right. As a teenager before I could drive I’d walk around with my CD player and it was the soundtrack of my life. One of my goals and favorite things is meeting new people and making friends.  I’m a people person and social butterfly, but I found it harder to meet people when I was by myself.  I felt that I had “creeper” or “weirdo” stamped on my forehead. I would question someone’s intentions if someone like me approached me.  Maybe it’s the comfort that you get when you’re with friends. You have someone to have your back and make sure you’re good to go.  This weekend music was my only friend.   Although it may be superficial but I think going to the bar is the best way to meet people. It may be the social lubricant in alcohol that makes it so much easier.  Plus, everyone is there for a good time.  It was Saturday night and I had almost given up on meeting anyone. When all of a sudden out of nowhere someone approached me and asked to sit at my table.  Next thing you know I’m in a club with Brazilian lawyers who are studying in Lisbon.  Who does that?! This guy right here does.

No, this wasn’t a life-changing trip, but I’m definitely more in touch with myself. Confidence booster, self-validation, self-realization, or wanderlust I don’t know how to look at it but it’s definitely felt so refreshing and invigorating.  Yeah as cliché as it may sound, it really was getting lost to understand myself better. The random and unexpected things that happen are always the best stories. I’m glad I took this risk and went by myself.  I wouldn’t be able to tell this story.

This meaning behind the song makes me think back when I walked all over the place. That kid back then laid the foundation for me, so I can do it now comfortably as an adult. Lisbon had a very Southern California vibe so of course Tupac fits in just right.

1 thought on “No Plans: Lisbon

  1. Sounds like a very interesting experience. It’s something special to go by your own at times. It makes you learn to be independent and makes you want to see your friends even more 🙂

Leave a comment